What is a Chakra?

The word Chakra translates into “wheel”. The invisible energy is called Prana, which is the life force that drives us. The seven chakras start at the base of the spine and travels to the crown of the head. Each swirling wheel of energy contains major organs and a bundle of nerves. When energy is blocked, it can lead to illness.

Chakras of Matter

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra is the foundation of the energy system. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, bladder, and colon. When the root chakra is open, you feel safe, secure, and stable. It is ideal to feel grounded in your root chakra when trying new challenges and pursuing a major life goal.

Physical location: base of the spine in the tailbone area

Color: Red

Emotional Issues: inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss, feeling threatened, anxious

Meditation: I AM.

Balancing the chakra gives energy to the physical body while controlling fear. You’ll see an increase in your overall health.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is the creative and sexual center. The body parts include the lower abdomen, pubic bone, below the navel and the womb. When the chakra is open you feel emotionally and sexually stable. You will feel the ability to create freely and abundantly with energy.

Physical location: lower abdomen, 2 inches below the navel

Color: Orange

Emotional Issues: sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality, all emotions, connection

Meditation: I FEEL.

Balancing the sacral chakra enhances your sexual vitality, physical power and fertility.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus is your personal power source. It encompasses the navel to the breastbone. When the solar plexus is open, you will experience joy and laughter. You’ll feel a boost in your self-confidence and your ability to accomplish your goals.

Physical location: upper abdomen (stomach area)

Color: Yellow

Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem, laughter, joy, anger

Meditation: I WILL

Balancing the solar plexus chakra calms your emotions and frustrations. The solar plexus will help to better utilize intuition.


Connection between Matter and Spirit – Center

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra connects the three chakras of matter and the three chakras of the spirit. The heart chakra encompasses the heart center. Opening the heart chakra is about love and compassion.

Physical location: Center of the chest (just above the heart)

Color: Green

Emotional issues: love, joy, inner peace, compassion

Meditation: I DO.

Balancing the heart chakra enhances your spiritual and universal oneness. It calms, soothes and relaxes you.

Chakras of Spirit

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The throat chakra is the chakra of verbal expression. It encompasses the neck, thyroid, parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth and tongue. When the throat chakra is open, you can express your personal truth. It allows you to synthesize ideas into symbols and speak your highest truth.

Physical location: Throat

Color: Bright blue


Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth, speak highest truth

Meditation: I SPEAK.

Balancing the throat chakra opens the speech and communication channels.


Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra is intuition and seeing the big picture. It encompasses the eyes and brows. When the third eye is open, you trust your instincts and feel inspired. Wisdom and imagination flow freely. The third eye is the gate that leads to inner realms and higher consciousness.

Physical location: forehead between the eyes

Color: Indigo

Emotional issues: intuition, imagination, wisdom, the ability to think and make decisions

Meditation: I SEE.

The third eye chakra balances the pineal gland, which produces melatonin and serotonin. Your ability to connect with the psychic perception will be enhanced.


Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The crown chakra is also known as the thousand petal lotus. It encompasses the crown of the head. When the crown chakra is open you experience enlightenment and a spiritual connection to the universe.

Physical location: very top of the head

Color: Violet

Emotional issues: inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss

Meditation: I UNDERSTAND.

Balancing the crown chakra, give vitality to the cerebrum and affects the development of psychic abilities.

2 thoughts on “Chakras

  1. Really insightful post on the spiritual world👏🏾 loved it


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close